Digital Headway – Driving exceptional Sales & Marketing activity for Businesses and Consumers

Expertise in Technology-led Content Marketing, Website Optimisation & User Conversion, Brand Marketing and High-Quality Print Media

They’ll Never Run Any TV Campaigns – Really?

Leave a comment

I’ve been struck down of late with what could be classed as a minor illness but now back fighting fit. In the short downtime I exposed myself to the vagaries of daytime television along with the odd box set and bouts of sleep, which triggered this post.

About 3 years ago I was carrying out some campaign work for a well-known marketing agency who were looking for potential new business within the retail sector. We put together the usual suspects and reached out to our respective networks to ask the question as to the potential to offer support within this area. The results were classed as good but would have been exceptional had the mindset not been “THEY’LL NEVER RUN ANY TV CAMPAIGNS”.

Well, lo and behold, in the last 10 days I’ve seen 3 major high street retailers venturing into the world of TV advertising for the first time. And we are not talking about the toe in the water approach – these are campaigns running across a variety of channels including TV.

Whilst I chuckle to myself I’m also frustrated as each of these had agreed for initial discussions but the agency declined.

The point here is that no matter what the potential timeline is companies need to persevere when it comes to relationship building so these opportunities bear fruit, even 36 months down the line.

By declining the opportunity to engage the marketing agency not only lost the opportunity to engage at the right time but they also lost the relationship because of their dismissive approach.

This is why I always bang on about the fact that any prospect activity, if collated correctly in terms of the right target audience, will never diminish in size. It may extend, time wise, as to likely commercial engagement but they will all remain active if nurtured for the long-term.

For me I need to crack on and play catch-up but thank you, as always, for reading and have a great last week of June and onwards.

Mike

Author: Mike Lee

I work in the world of marketing services but with a different slant. For me it's all about relationships and adding significant value for both my partners and my clients. 25 years in Marketing -15 years at C-Suite level nurturing CMO contacts. 14 years offering SME level start-up support of agencies as well as working with Top 5 Global agency Interpublic group. 8 years supporting various agencies of all levels – putting an average of 70% turnover onto agency's books solely through my new business activity. I talk as a focused consultant rather than a sales person. I'm also of the view that the more good you do the more good you get back. Not everyone understands this ethos but those that do remain a client, partner and friend for the long-term. I believe that having open conversations and getting a view on the subject at hand works better than straight selling.

Leave a Reply

